View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu 19 Oct, 2017 10:01 am



Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 GoPro Hero 3 
Author Message
TRA Forum Fixer
User avatar

Joined: Mon 28 Jun, 2010 10:20 pm
Posts: 1610
Location: Warner - NW Brisbane
Post GoPro Hero 3
Anyone want to buy my Hero 2 :)


_________________
Wes - www.offroadvw.net -bikes
http://www.taylorcycles.com.au My DH MTB racing bro's shop.


Wed 17 Oct, 2012 5:50 pm
Profile WWW
TRAIL LEGEND
User avatar

Joined: Mon 13 Jul, 2009 5:22 pm
Posts: 1178
Location: Sunny Coast
Post Re: GoPro Hero 3
Awesome action vid....

_________________
EVERYBODY DIES
BUT NOT EVERYBODY LIVES


Wed 17 Oct, 2012 6:25 pm
Profile WWW
TRAIL GURU
User avatar

Joined: Sun 27 Feb, 2011 6:41 pm
Posts: 482
Location: Toowoomba
Post Re: GoPro Hero 3
have the base models always been 199?
http://gopro.com/hd-hero3-cameras

_________________
Former: XR250r, DRZ400e
Currently on a trail riding hiatus


Wed 17 Oct, 2012 9:23 pm
Profile
TRA Forum Fixer
User avatar

Joined: Mon 28 Jun, 2010 10:20 pm
Posts: 1610
Location: Warner - NW Brisbane
Post Re: GoPro Hero 3
The hero2 was $299. The new silver edition is like the Hero2 with built-in wi-fi.

_________________
Wes - www.offroadvw.net -bikes
http://www.taylorcycles.com.au My DH MTB racing bro's shop.


Wed 17 Oct, 2012 9:39 pm
Profile WWW
Beerburrum Freak
User avatar

Joined: Thu 09 Jul, 2009 5:17 pm
Posts: 6435
Post Re: GoPro Hero 3
Looks the goods Wes icon_thumright , i give you $10 evil6

_________________
03 KDX200 OHHH YERRR 2014 KTM 500 S##T YERR
That's Mr Cranky Pants to you
Poke me i dare you.


Thu 18 Oct, 2012 4:50 am
Profile
TRA Forum Fixer
User avatar

Joined: Mon 28 Jun, 2010 10:20 pm
Posts: 1610
Location: Warner - NW Brisbane
Post Re: GoPro Hero 3
$489 for the new one

http://www.lustyindustries.com/press/ne ... hd-hero-3/

_________________
Wes - www.offroadvw.net -bikes
http://www.taylorcycles.com.au My DH MTB racing bro's shop.


Thu 18 Oct, 2012 7:51 pm
Profile WWW
Beerburrum Freak
User avatar

Joined: Thu 09 Jul, 2009 5:17 pm
Posts: 6435
Post Re: GoPro Hero 3
Cheaper at Go pro dontknow

http://gopro.com/hd-hero3-cameras

_________________
03 KDX200 OHHH YERRR 2014 KTM 500 S##T YERR
That's Mr Cranky Pants to you
Poke me i dare you.


Thu 18 Oct, 2012 7:54 pm
Profile
TRA Forum Fixer
User avatar

Joined: Mon 28 Jun, 2010 10:20 pm
Posts: 1610
Location: Warner - NW Brisbane
Post Re: GoPro Hero 3
Don't you know everything costs more in Australia Dale?

If you order it directly from gopro you will see the shipping makes it pretty much the same as Aussie RRP.

_________________
Wes - www.offroadvw.net -bikes
http://www.taylorcycles.com.au My DH MTB racing bro's shop.


Thu 18 Oct, 2012 10:12 pm
Profile WWW
TRA Forum Fixer
User avatar

Joined: Mon 28 Jun, 2010 10:20 pm
Posts: 1610
Location: Warner - NW Brisbane
Post Re: GoPro Hero 3
I ended up buying a Gopro Hero3 for $399 from Torpedo 7.

Things I didn't realise;
* it takes micro SD cards, so my old superduper SD card for my gopro hero2 won't work
* The wifi and android phone app is really really handy. It is excellent for checking camera alignment.
* The app also lets you see and change all of the camera settings, which is fantastic as scrolling through the menus on the gopro is pretty crap.
* I don't really need the LCD back pac anymore, as I can use the phone app to check camera alignment etc.
* The battery is a different shape, so I can't use the battery bacpac to charge the main battery or to swap batteries
* The old bacpacs do fit, and the old bacpac doors also fit, so I could use them if I want.
* The lens part of the housing appears to be glass now, not a plastic like the old one. Maybe it will be more scratch resistant.

I will probably sell my old hero2, just have to decide what bac pacs and mounts I want to sell with it.

_________________
Wes - www.offroadvw.net -bikes
http://www.taylorcycles.com.au My DH MTB racing bro's shop.


Tue 21 May, 2013 6:40 pm
Profile WWW
Beerburrum Freak
User avatar

Joined: Thu 09 Jul, 2009 5:17 pm
Posts: 6435
Post Re: GoPro Hero 3
Get a few batteries Wes they dont last long.

_________________
03 KDX200 OHHH YERRR 2014 KTM 500 S##T YERR
That's Mr Cranky Pants to you
Poke me i dare you.


Tue 21 May, 2013 8:07 pm
Profile
TRAIL LEGEND
User avatar

Joined: Sun 22 Apr, 2012 5:21 pm
Posts: 1061
Location: Moore, Qld.
Post Re: GoPro Hero 3
yeah second that on the batteries! Some new ones have arrived at home while i was away. Althought i've only used my silver once i'mpretty impressed with the quality and the Iphone app is bloody good being able to contol the camera from the phone!

Here's to some great video action! icon_thumright

_________________
Simon. 09 530exc

Currently suffering from PMS. Parked Motorcycle Syndrome :( .


Wed 22 May, 2013 8:23 am
Profile
TRA Sponsor
User avatar

Joined: Wed 27 Feb, 2013 8:37 pm
Posts: 169
Location: Brisbane
Post Re: GoPro Hero 3
Just got hero3 silver,
does any one know how good the sticky pads are that come with it for my helmet?
Could some one post a link to instructions?
Do I need a LCD display to use it? Are the chest mounts better?
Cheers guys I want to get using it but haven't a clue what to do!! BangHead

_________________
www.dentremovalbrisbane.com.au
Paintless dent repair


Sat 22 Jun, 2013 8:33 am
Profile WWW
TRA Sponsor
User avatar

Joined: Wed 27 Feb, 2013 8:37 pm
Posts: 169
Location: Brisbane
Post Re: GoPro Hero 3
Ps I don't have an iPhone!!

_________________
www.dentremovalbrisbane.com.au
Paintless dent repair


Sat 22 Jun, 2013 8:34 am
Profile WWW
TRA Forum Fixer
User avatar

Joined: Mon 28 Jun, 2010 10:20 pm
Posts: 1610
Location: Warner - NW Brisbane
Post Re: GoPro Hero 3
Manual
http://cbcdn2.gp-static.com/uploads/pro ... vC_web.pdf

The sticky things are fine and stick extremely well, if you clean your helmet first.

I have a chest mount, but prefer to side mount it on my helmet, like this;


On the chest mount I find it looks at the fuel tank too much when standing. This is a photo from the chest mount while doing a wheelstand, you can't see the track much when doing this
Attachment:
s_G0040720.JPG
s_G0040720.JPG [ 173.04 KiB | Viewed 3359 times ]


Do you have an android phone? You can control the camera through the gopro app on iphone or android. You can use this to set the camera up and then you don't need the LCD screen.

_________________
Wes - www.offroadvw.net -bikes
http://www.taylorcycles.com.au My DH MTB racing bro's shop.


Sat 22 Jun, 2013 9:33 am
Profile WWW
TRA Sponsor
User avatar

Joined: Wed 27 Feb, 2013 8:37 pm
Posts: 169
Location: Brisbane
Post Re: GoPro Hero 3
I don't have an android phone as I kept smashing them
Where's the best place to buy the LCD and are they included with the piggyback batty?
Thanks pneumatic icon_thumright

_________________
www.dentremovalbrisbane.com.au
Paintless dent repair


Sat 22 Jun, 2013 10:47 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
support our sponsors Servicing SEQLD
Info on how to become a sponsor here. Full directory listing of sponsors here.



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.